Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute –

The Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute – was founded in 1992 and has been a member of the Leibniz-Association since 2003.

The scientists at the HKI carry out research into natural products from micro-organisms and into the infection biology of pathogenic fungi. Novel discoveries of natural products are investigated for their biological activity and modified purposefully for possible drug applications. In this context, the institute has been maintaining a rich tradition in Jena bringing in cutting-edge approaches to solutions and research methods beyond that.

The HKI is firmly integrated into the most important Thuringian research centre, the Beutenberg Campus Jena. Beyond the close corporation with the neighbourhood institutes, we collaborate intensively with the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, the Jena University Hospital and the University of Applied Sciences Ernst-Abbe in Jena. This leaves a link in numerous joint research projects and a strong commitment of our staff to academic teaching.

Approximately 380 members of staff are currently employed at the HKI. Further structural units possessing an integrative function and including independent junior research groups and cross-disciplinary institutions are organized around five scientific departments and the Bio Pilot Plant.

Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie

Das Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie – Hans-Knöll-Institut – wurde 1992 gegründet und gehört seit 2003 zur Leibniz-Gemeinschaft.

Die Wissenschaftler des HKI befassen sich mit der Erforschung von Naturstoffen aus Mikroorganismen und der Infektionsbiologie human-pathogener Pilze. Neu entdeckte Naturstoffe werden auf ihre biologische Aktivität untersucht und für mögliche Anwendungen als Wirkstoffe zielgerichtet modifiziert. Damit setzt das Institut eine reiche Tradition in Jena fort und bringt darüber hinaus moderne Fragestellungen und Forschungsmethoden ein.

Das HKI ist fest in das bedeutendste Thüringer Forschungszentrum, den Beutenberg Campus Jena integriert. Neben der engen Kooperation mit den benachbarten Instituten pflegen wir eine besonders intensive Zusammenarbeit mit der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, dem Universitätsklinikum Jena und der Ernst-Abbe-Fachhochschule Jena. Dies dokumentiert sich in zahlreichen gemeinsamen Forschungsvorhaben und einer starken Beteiligung unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter an der universitären Lehre.

Am HKI sind gegenwärtig etwa 380 Personen beschäftigt. Um fünf wissenschaftliche Abteilungen und das Biotechnikum gliedern sich weitere Struktureinheiten, darunter unabhängige Nachwuchsgruppen und Querschnittseinrichtungen mit einer integrativen Funktion für das gesamte Institut.