Systemsbiology of sepsis

Our main focus is to improve diagnosis and therapy of sepsis by functional genome analysis. We aim to understand the molecular context employing network based models. We are part of the Integrated Research and Treatment Center of Sepsis Control and Care (IFB CSCC) and are supported by the BMBF.

Further medical applications

Employing our methods, we investigate the regulation of the inflammatory response of immune cells after infection, aberrant regulatory mechanisms of metabolism in tumor cells, and are interested in telomere maintenance mechanisms.

Methods development

High throughput methods of functional genomics produce massive data on a genome wide scale for a large variety of different organisms, organs and diseases. This information needs to be funneled and organized into a medical meaningful context.

  • Regulation analysis: We specify gene regulation by e.g. combining the regulatory impact of different transcription factors, and estimate cell context specific regulation of transcription factors using mixed integer linear programming.
  • Alternative Splicing: We develop methods to identify alternative splicing using RNA-Seq data.
  • Pattern recognition in networks: We develop methods to detect specific regulation patterns in cellular networks using Wavelet transforms.

Systembiologie der Sepsis

Zu unseren Hauptzielen gehören die verbesserte Diagnose und Therapie von Sepsis mit Hilfe der funktionellen Genomanalyse. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei im Verstehen der molekularen Zusammenhänge unter Zuhilfenahme von Netzwerk basierten Modellen. Die Arbeitsgruppe ist Teil des Integrierten Forschungs- und Behandlungszentrums Sepsis und Sepsisfolgen (CSCC) und wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.

Weitere medizinische Anwendungen

Mit unseren Methoden untersuchen wir die veränderten Regulationsmechanismen von Blutproben, die bei Infektionen mit Pilzen und Bakterien auftreten. Außerdem interessieren wir uns für den Metabolismus in Krebszellen und Telomer-Erhaltungsmechanismen in Hefe und Krebszellen.

Methodenentwicklung

Hochdurchsatz-Verfahren der Genomforschung erzeugen eine massive Datenmenge auf Genomebene für eine Vielzahl von Organismen und Krankheiten. Diese Menge an Informationen muss im medizinischen Kontext sinnvoll in Zusammenhang gebracht und ausgewertet werden.

  • Regulationsanalyse: Wir analysieren Genregulation, indem wir z. B. Motive von Transkriptionsfaktorbindestellen kombinieren und mit Hilfe von gemischt ganzzahliger Optimierung den Zellkontext spezifischen Effekt von Transkriptionsfaktoren/Regulatoren bestimmen.
  • Alternatives Spleißen: Wir entwickeln Methoden zur Identifizierung alternativen Spleißens mit Hilfe von RNA-Sequenzierungsdaten.
  • Mustererkennung in zellulären Netzwerken: Wir entwickeln Methoden, um spezifische Regulationsmuster in zellulären Netzwerken mit Hilfe von Wavelettransformationen zu detektieren.