Development of predictive systems-level models in medical and industrial biotechnology

Systems Biology and Bioinformatics

It is often said that biological systems, such as cells, are 'complex systems'. A popular notion of complex systems is of one of a very large number of simple and identical elements interacting to produce 'complex' behaviors. However, the reality of biological systems is somewhat different: large numbers of functionally diverse, and frequently multifunctional sets of elements interact selectively and nonlinearly to produce coherent rather than complex behaviors. To understand the complexity of biological systems, our group integrates experimental and computational research — in other words we apply a systems biology approach. Systems biology, through pragmatic modeling and theoretical exploration, provides a powerful foundation from which to address critical scientific questions head-on.

The main objective of our Systems biology and Bioinformatics (SBI) unit is to discover new molecular mechanisms using an iterative cycle that starts with experimental data, followed by data analysis and data integration to determine correlations between concentrations of molecules, and ends with the formulation of hypotheses concerning co- and inter-regulation of groups of those molecules. These hypotheses then predict new correlations, which can be tested in new rounds of experiments or by further biochemical analyses. The major strengths of our approach are that it is potentially complete (i.e. genome-wide) and that it addresses the transcriptome, proteome, metabolome and fluxome. SBI works on addressing questions fundamental to our understanding of life, yet progress here will lead to practical innovations in medicine, drug discovery and bioengineering. SBI has two distinct branches: knowledge discovery, or data-mining, which extracts the hidden patterns from huge quantities of experimental data, forming hypotheses as a result; and simulation-based analysis, which tests hypotheses with in silico experiments, providing predictions to be tested by in vitro and in vivo studies.

The research group PiDOMICS is integrated into the structural unit Systems Biology and Bioinformatics. The group develops bioinformatic tools for the processing of high-throughput data and for the detection of new diagnostic and therapeutic biomarkers using invasive aspergillosis as a model. The results of the research group enable new possibilities for application in commercial bioinformatic services and novel biomarker-based diagnostic products - also with a possible utilization for other diseases.

The research group PiDOMICS is funded by the Free State of Thuringia with means of the European Social Fund.

Open positions

We are working on several exciting projects in the general area of systems biology and bioinformatics. Most of our projects are in collaboration with leading labs from US, Europe, and Asia. We are always looking for new individuals to join our group.

Specifically:
We are looking for highly motivated, hard working students at the Bachelor or Master level to work on high risk-high reward research projects. We are also interested for student-initiated, faculty-supervised projects that allow students to explore areas of their interest in depth. Send us your CV at gianni.panagiotou@leibniz-hki.de.

We are looking especially for new PhD students and Post Doctoral researchers with a solid background in any of the following areas: bioinformatics, genomics, computational biology, chemoinformatics, modelling of biological systems. However, if you are extremely good on something else we would be happy to hear about it and design projects together.

Entwicklung von Modellen für systembiologische Vorhersagen für die medizinische und industrielle Biotechnologie

Systembiologie und Bioinformatik

Biologische Systeme wie beispielsweise Zellen werden häufig als „komplexe Systeme” bezeichnet. Eine gängige Vorstellung von komplexen Systemen besteht darin, dass eine große Zahl von einfachen und gleichartigen Elementen miteinander in Wechselwirkung treten, um „komplexe“ Verhaltensweisen zu erzeugen. Die Wirklichkeit sieht in biologischen Systemen jedoch oft etwas anders aus: eine Vielzahl von funktionell unterschiedlichen und häufig multifunktionellen Mengen an Elementen interagieren selektiv und nicht-linear miteinander und erzeugen so ein Verhalten, dass eher als kohärent denn als komplex zu bezeichnen ist. Um die Komplexität biologischer Systeme zu verstehen, verbindet unsere Gruppe experimentelle und computergestütze Forschung – anders ausgedrückt: wir wenden eine systembiologische Herangehensweise an. Durch pragmatische Modellierungen und theoretische Untersuchungen bietet die Systembiologie eine starke Grundlage, um kritische wissenschaftliche Fragen direkt anzugehen.

Das Ziel der Forschungsgruppe Systembiologie und Bioinformatik (SBI) ist es, mit Hilfe eines iterativen Zyklus neue molekulare Mechanismen zu entdecken. Dieser Zyklus beginnt mit den experimentellen Daten, gefolgt von Datenanalyse und Datenintegration, um Zusammenhänge zwischen Molekülkonzentrationen zu bestimmen, und endet mit der Formulierung von Hypothesen zur Co- und Interregulation zwischen Gruppen dieser Moleküle. Die Hypothesen dienen wiederum zur Vorhersage neuer Korrelationen, die in einer neuen Runde von Experimenten oder durch weitergehende biochemische Analysen getestet werden. Die Stärke unserer Vorgehensweise liegt darin, dass vollständige Systeme betrachtet werden können (z.B. Genom-weite Analysen) und dass sie das Transkriptom, Proteom, Metabolom und Fluxom miteinbezieht. Die Forschungsgruppe SBI untersucht grundlegende biologische Fragestellungen, deren Beantwortung auch zu Innovationen in Medizin, Medikamentenentwicklung und Biotechnologie führen kann. Die Forschung in der Gruppe SBI verfolgt zwei Stränge: Wissensentdeckung oder „Datamining” – dabei werden versteckte Muster in großen Mengen an experimentellen Daten ermittelt und daraus Hypothesen entwickelt; und Simulations-basierte Analysen – dabei werden Hypothesen mittels in silico Experimenten getestet und somit Vorhersagen generiert, die in vivo und in vitro überprüft werden können.

Die Forschergruppe PiDOMICS ist in die Struktureinheit Systembiologie und Bioinformatik integriert. Sie befasst sich mit der Entwicklung bioinformatischer Verfahren zur Verarbeitung von Hochdurchsatzdaten und zur Detektion neuer diagnose- und therapierelevanter Biomarker am Beispiel der invasiven Aspergillose. Die Ergebnisse der Forschergruppe eröffnen – auch in der Übertragung auf andere Krankheitsbilder – Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in Form von kommerziellen bioinformatischen Serviceleistungen und neuen, Biomarker-basierten Diagnoseprodukten.

Die Forschergruppe PiDOMICS wird vom Freistaat Thüringen mit Mitteln aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds finanziert.