Complement evasion of C. albicans

The human pathogenic yeast Candida albicans shields its surface from the immune attack of the human host and protects itself from the destructive action of the activated immune system. Candida expresses specific surface proteins which mimic host surface structures and which bind specific soluble human immune and complement regulators from human plasma. With this surface modification Candida uses a ‘wolf in sheep’s clothing’ approach – this means the fungal pathogen Candida is invisible for the host immune system. In consequence, the fungus can control, modulate, block and inhibit host immune reactions. Thereby, the human pathogen can propagate in the immunocompetent host and cause an infection.

The human pathogenic yeast Candida albicans coats its surface with human immunregulators. Candida has a cell wall (blue color) and the attached human immune regulators is visualized by green.

Bild 2

Candida albicans (green fluorescent) attaches th human endothelial cells.
Members

Leader

Prof. Dr. Peter F. Zipfel

Phone: +49 3641 532-1301 Email: peter.zipfel@leibniz-hki.de

Prof. Dr. Christine Skerka

Phone: +49 3641 532-1164 Email: christine.skerka@leibniz-hki.de

Members

Dr. Prasad Dasari

Phone: +49 3641 532-1410 Email: prasad.dasari@leibniz-hki.de

Steffi Hälbich

Phone: +49 3641 532-1175 Email: steffi.haelbich@leibniz-hki.de

Luke Donald Halder

Phone: +49 3641 532-1167 Email: Luke-Donald.Halder@leibniz-hki.de

Andrea Hartmann

Phone: +49 3641 532-1177 Email: andrea.hartmann@leibniz-hki.de

Sarah Irmscher

Phone: +49 3641 532-1348 Email: sarah.irmscher@leibniz-hki.de

Nadine Reiher

Phone: +49 3641 532-1163 Email: nadine.reiher@leibniz-hki.de

Prof. Dr. Christine Skerka

Phone: +49 3641 532-1164 Email: christine.skerka@leibniz-hki.de

Monika von der Heide

Phone: +49 3641 532-1169 Email: Monika.vonderHeide@leibniz-hki.de

Publication

Currently there are no publications available in this context.