Pressure Reactor Cascade – High pressure to find new active compounds

Many natural products are produced by filamentous microorganisms (fungi or actinobacteria) that drastically increase viscosity in bioreactors due to their morphology. Therefore, in classical systems it is much harder to provide sufficient oxygen supply for these organsisms and this usually has negative effects on the production of active compounds.

Increasing the pressure within the reactor system allows a gentle oxygen supply and thus favours the desired microbial activity. By implementing the reactors as cascade, continuous fermentation processes can be realized. This allows to study the production processes of active compounds that are subject to end product inhibition (catabolite repression, e.g. all antibiotics).

The pressure reactor cascade is a research reactor system for process development. As such, it is situated at the boundary of basic research and possible economic exploitation by companies. Suitable partners can be found nationally and internationally.

This project is funded by the Free State of Thuringia with means of the European Regional Development Fund.

Druckreaktorkaskade – Mit Hochdruck zu neuen Wirkstoffen

Viele Wirkstoffbildner sind filamentös wachsende Mikroorganismen (Pilze oder Actinobakterien), die aufgrund ihrer Morphologie die Viskosität im Bioreaktor drastisch erhöhen und in klassischen Systemen deutlich schlechter mit Sauerstoff versorgt werden können. Dies wirkt sich im Regelfall negativ auf die Wirkstoffproduktion aus.

Durch Druckerhöhung im Reaktorsystem kann nun eine schonende Sauerstoffversorgung gewährleistet und damit gewünschte mikrobielle Aktivität begünstigt werden. Durch die Ausführung der Reaktoren als Kaskade können auch kontinuierliche Fermentationsprozesse realisiert werden. Damit wird es möglich, auch Wirkstoffproduktionsprozesse zu erforschen, die einer Endprodukthemmung unterliegen (Katabolit-Repression, z. B. alle Antibiotika).

Die Druckreaktorkaskade ist ein Forschungsreaktorsystem zur Verfahrensentwicklung. Sie ist damit an der Schnittstelle zwischen der Grundlagenforschung und einer möglichen wirtschaftlichen Verwertung durch Unternehmen angesiedelt. Geeignete Partner finden sich dabei im nationalen und internationalen Umfeld.

Das Vorhaben wird gefördert durch den Freistaat Thüringen aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung.