We are studying an essential part of the human immune defence – the complement system

  • Complement and innate immunity
  • Immune homeostasis
  • Immune evasion of the Candida albicans
  • Complement evasion of human pathogenic microbes
  • Pathology of complement mediated human diseases
  • New diagnostics and therapy of kidney and retinal diseases

Complement is an important immune recognition and defence system that is central for homeostasis and that directs the anti-inflammatory immune response in humans.

The Department of Infection Biology studies how complement, as the central part of innate immunity, controls infectious microbes and contributes to the pathology of human diseases. We study how the human pathogenic yeast Candida albicans evades host complement attack and consequently causes infections. The research group Immunoregulation studies how complement together with macrophages controls the immune response and how complement drives the inflammatory response of these phagocytic cells.

The complement system regulates and controls immune homeostasis. Genetic modifications such as mutations, sequence and copy number variation cause several disorders that manifest in different organs, primarily in the kidney and in the retina of the eye. The identification of novel autoantibodies, as well as new disease-related genetic variants contributed to the better understanding of the pathology of two complement mediated kidney disorders. These results formed the bases for the development of new diagnostic and also new therapeutic approaches for the autoimmune kidney diseases DEAP-HUS and MPGN II/ DDD/C3G.

Team

Peter F. Zipfel
Head

Publications

Götze S, Vij R, Burow K, Thome N, Urbat L, Schlosser N, Pflanze S, Müller R, Hänsch VG, Schlabach K, Fazlikhani L, Walther G, Dahse HM, Regestein L, Brunke S, Hube B, Hertweck C, Franken P, Stallforth P (2023) Ecological niche-inspired genome mining leads to the discovery of crop-protecting nonribosomal lipopeptides featuring a transient amino acid building block. J Am Chem Soc 145(4), 2342-2353.
Noriega M, Husain-Syed F, Wulf S, Csala B, Krebs CF, Jabs W, Zipfel PF, Gröne HJ, Wiech T (2023) Kidney biopsy findings in patients with SARS-CoV-2 infection or after COVID-19 vccination. CJASN [In press]
Seifert L, Zahner G, Meyer-Schwesinger C, Hickstein N, Dehde S, Wulf S, Köllner SMS, Lucas R, Kylies D, Froembling S, Zielinski S, Kretz O, Borodovsky A, Biniaminov S, Wang Y, Cheng H, Koch-Nolte F, Zipfel PF, Hopfer H, Puelles VG, Panzer U, Huber TB, Wiech T, Tomas NM (2023) The classical pathway triggers pathogenic complement activation in membranous nephropathy. Nat Commun 14(1), 473.

Sample consignment

Sample material and transport.

Wir erforschen einen wichtigen Teil der Immunabwehr des Menschen – das Komplementsystem

  • Komplement und angeborene Immunität
  • Immune Homeostase
  • Immunevasion von Candida albicans
  • Komplementevasion von humanpathogenen Erregern
  • Pathologie von komplementvermittelten Krankheiten
  • Neue Diagnostika und Therapien von Erkrankungen der Niere und des Auges

Das Komplementsystem spielt eine zentrale Rolle bei der Erkennung und Abwehr von Infektionen, der Homöostase und der anti-inflammatorischen Immunabwehr. Die Abteilung Infektionsbiologie untersucht wie sich der pathogene Pilz Candida albicans gegen den Angriff des Komplementsystems schützt und dadurch Infektionen verursacht. Die Arbeitsgruppe Immunregulation analysiert hierbei den Angriff und die Schädigung des Erregers Candida albicans durch die Zusammenarbeit von Komplement und Immunzellen. Außerdem erforschen wir wie die freigesetzten Mediatoren die weitere Immunreaktion der Makrophagen steuern und die Entzündungsreaktion modulieren.

Das Komplementsystem reguliert Immunhomöostase. Genetische Veränderungen in Form von Mutationen, Sequenzvariationen oder veränderter Genkopienzahl können hier zu Erkrankungen führen, die sich in verschiedenen Organen wie Niere und Auge manifestieren. Die Identifizierung neuer Autoantikörper und die Charakterisierung neuer genetischer Veränderungen konnten das Verständnis der Pathologie von komplementvermittelten Nieren-Erkrankungen verbessern. Basierend auf diesen Erkenntnissen entwickeln wir bereits neue diagnostische Verfahren und immunbasierte Therapien für die Nierenerkrankungen DEAP-HUS und C3 Glomerulopathie/‘Dense Deposit Disease‘.

Team

Peter F. Zipfel
Abteilungsleiter
Christine Skerka
Stellvertretende Abteilungsleiterin

Publikationen

Wendt R, Siwy J, He T, Latosinska A, Wiech T, Zipfel, PF, Tserga A, Vlahou A, Rupprecht H, Catanese L, Mischak H, Beige J (2022) Molecular mapping of urinary complement peptides in kidney diseases Proteomes [In press]
Dasari P, Nordengrün M, Vilhena C, Steil L, Abdurrahman G, Surmann K, Dhople V, Lahrberg J, Bachert C, Skerka C, Völker U, Bröker B M, Zipfel P F (2021) The protease SplB of Staphylococcus aureus targets host complement components and inhibits complement-mediated bacterial opsonophagocytosis. J Bacteriol [Epub ahead of print]
Du S, Vilhena C, King S, Sahagún-Ruiz A, Hammerschmidt S, Skerka C, Zipfel PF (2021) Molecular analyses identifies new domains and structural differences among Streptococcus pneumoniae immune evasion proteins PspC and Hic. Sci Rep 11(1), 1701.

Probeneinsendung

Probenmaterial und transport.