We provide services in the field of micro-organisms and natural products and research into zygomycetes.

The Jena Microbial Resource Collection (JMRC) is a joint institution of the HKI and the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena. The JMRC provides scientific services comprising the collection, storage, maintenance and the worldwide exchange of microbiological resources (micro-organisms, natural products, test capacities). In addition, we research into the biodiversity of fungi as producers of natural products and pathogens causing infectious diseases. Our main focus is on:

  • Storage, maintenance and world-wide exchange of micro-organisms, natural products and research data
  • International network of resource data bases
  • Bioactive compounds profiling
  • Virulence of the type Lichtheimia
  • Fungus-immune cell interactions
  • Functional genomics of fungi
  • Evolution, biodiversity and polyphasic taxonomy of fungi

The JMRC curates a selection of about 50,000 micro-organisms (15,000 species of fungi and 35,000 species of bacteria) as well as a library of natural products, natural product derivates and synthetic materials. These collections serve both research projects within the HKI and the world-wide material and data exchange within the frame of cooperations and joint projects. The JMRC is closely linked with the National Reference Center for invasive Mycoses NRZ-Myk which is also accommodated at the HKI and takes over the services for the deposition of clinical isolates. In addition, the JMRC coordinates the complete biological profiling of new active compounds required for the preparation of pre-clinical stages of drug development. Investigations concerning microbial activity are carried out by JMRC staff. The JMRC provides this service to joint large-scale research partners (FungiNet, ChemBioSys, InfectControl 2020, JSMC), but also to individual projects of academic and industrial partners on request.

Zygomycetes and their pathogenic mechanisms are being investigated as the pathogenic agents of mycoses. Since the turn of the millennium, there has been a massive increase in formerly rare zygomycete infections. Our JMRC staff carries out research into the fungus Lichtheimia corymbifera, one of the most common human pathogenic zygomycetes that is distributed through the air. In humans, L. corymbifera releases a life-threatening, invasive infection of the bronchovascular-respiratory-pulmonary tract. This is an acute respiratory disease that is capable of developing into a generalised zygomycosis and may like this affect the whole body. Once manifested in the body, the fungus – depending on the immune status of the person concerned - leads to death in up to 90 % of all cases. There have been only modest possibilities available with regard to diagnostics and therapy. Our research aims at uncovering the backgrounds of the pathogenity in order to lay a basis for the improvement in diagnostics and new therapeutic possibilities. In this process, we examine the interdependencies on a genome, transcriptome, proteome and cellular level.

Wir bieten Service im Bereich Mikroorganismen und Naturstoffe und erforschen Zygomyceten

Die Jena Microbial Resource Collection (JMRC) ist eine gemeinsame Einrichtung des Leibniz-HKI und der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Die JMRC bietet wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen rund um die Sammlung, Verwahrung, Pflege und den weltweiten Austausch von mikrobiologischen Ressourcen (Mikroorganismen, Naturstoffe, Testkapazitäten). Außerdem erforschen wir die Biodiversität von Pilzen und Bakterien als Produzenten von Naturstoffen und Erreger von Infektionskrankheiten. Schwerpunkte unserer Arbeit sind:

  • Verwahrung, Pflege und weltweiter Austausch von Mikroorganismen, Naturstoffen und Forschungsdaten
  • Internationale Vernetzung der Ressourcen-Datenbanken
  • Biologische Wirkstoff-Profilierung
  • Virulenz der Gattung Lichtheimia
  • Interaktionen zwischen Pilzen und Immunzellen
  • Funktionelle Genomik von Pilzen
  • Evolution, Biodiversität und polyphasische Taxonomie von Pilzen

Die JMRC kuratiert eine Sammlung von ca. 50.000 Mikroorganismen (15.000 Pilze und 35.000 Bakterien) sowie eine Bibliothek mit Naturstoffen, Naturstoffderivaten und Synthetika. Diese Kollektionen dienen sowohl Forschungsprojekten innerhalb des Leibniz-HKI als auch dem weltweiten Material- und Datenaustausch im Rahmen von Kooperationen und Verbundvorhaben. Die JMRC ist eng mit dem Nationalen Referenzzentrum für invasive Pilzinfektionen NRZ-Myk vernetzt, und übernimmt Dienstleistungen für die Deposition von klinischen Isolaten. Die JMRC koordiniert des Weiteren die gesamte biologische Profilierung neuer Wirkstoffe zur Vorbereitung der präklinischen Phase der Medikamentenentwicklung. Untersuchungen zur antimikrobiellen Aktivität von Substanzen werden von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern der JMRC selbst durchgeführt. Diesen Service bietet die JMRC großen Forschungsverbünden (Exzellenzcluster, SFB/TR FungiNet, SFB ChemBioSys, InfectControl 2020, JSMC) und auf Anfrage in Einzelprojekten für akademische und Industriepartner an.

Als Erreger schwerer Pilzinfektionen werden Zygomyceten und deren Pathogenitätsmechanismen erforscht. Seit der Jahrtausendwende ist ein massiver Anstieg von ehemals seltenen Zygomykosen zu verzeichnen. Die Mitarbeiter der JMRC arbeiten mit dem Pilz Lichtheimia corymbifera, einem der häufigsten über die Luft verbreiteten humanpathogenen Zygomyceten. L. corymbifera löst beim Menschen eine lebensbedrohende, invasive Infektion des bronchovaskulären-respiratorisch-pulmonalen Trakts aus, eine Atemwegsinfektion, die sich zu einer generalisierten Zygomykose entwickeln und somit den ganzen Körper erfassen kann. Einmal im Körper manifestiert führt der Pilz je nach Immunstatus des betroffenen Menschen in bis zu 90 % der Fälle zum Tod. Für die Diagnose und Therapie stehen bisher nur bescheidene Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Um diese Situation zu verbessern, wollen wir mit unserer Forschung die Hintergründe der Pathogenität aufdecken. Dabei untersuchen wir die molekularen Wechselwirkungen auf der Ebene des Genoms, Transkriptoms, Proteoms und der Zelle.

Team

Kerstin Voigt
Leitung

Publikationen

Acosta España J, Voigt K (2022) Mini review: Risk assessment, clinical manifestation, prediction, and prognosis of Mucormycosis: Implications for pathogen- and human-derived biomarkers. Front Microbiol 13, 895989.
Acosta España J, Voigt K (2022) An old confusion: entomophthoromycosis versus mucormycosis and their main differences. Front Microbiol 13, 1035100. (Review)
Gryganskyi AP, Nie Y, Hajek AE, Hodge KT, Liu XY, Aadland K, Voigt K, Anishchenko IM, Kutovenko VB, Kava L, Vuek A, Vilgalys R, Huang B, Stajich JE (2022) The early terrestrial fungal lineage of Conidiobolus - Transition from saprotroph to parasitic lifestyle. J Fungi 8(8), 789.

Probenversand

Für Stammanfragen und Testungen von Substanzen auf antimikrobielle Aktivitäten füllen Sie bitte die entsprechenden Formulare aus und senden Sie an: jmrc@leibniz-hki.de.