Candida albicans – a mucosal commensal that can cause life-threatening infections

The fungus Candida albicans occurs as a commensal in various warm-blooded animals, including humans were it is frequently found in healthy individuals. However, under pre-disposing conditions C. albicans can cause infections, ranging from superficial mucosal lesions to infection of internal organs and life-threatening disseminated candidiasis and sepsis. The latter two are still associated with high mortality rates, even if state-of-the art therapy is applied.

The Research Group Microbial Immunology investigates the interactions between Candida and the host, aiming at a better understanding of the interactions that lead to pathophysiological alterations. We furthermore strive to understand which process in pathogenesis lead to the development of clinical symptoms and lethal disease. In this regard, we focus on the following aspects:

  • The role of fungal morphology in pathogenesis
  • Molecular mechanisms contributing to Candida sepsis
  • Gastrointestinal colonisation and translocation

To address these questions we use microbiological and immunological methods as well as molecular biology in combination with various infection models. We aim to contribute to a better understanding of the processes during infection. This knowledge is indispensable to develop novel strategies for preventing and treating life-threatening Candida infections.

Candida albicans – ein Darmbewohner, der lebensbedrohliche Infektionen auslösen kann

Der Pilz Candida albicans ist ein Kommensale bei Warmblütern, der häufig auf verschiedenen Schleimhäuten gesunder Menschen nachgewiesen werden kann. Unter bestimmten Bedingungen kann C. albicans jedoch auch Erkrankungen auslösen. Diese reichen von oberflächlichen Infektionen der Schleimhäute über lokalisierte Infektionen innerer Organe hin zur lebensbedrohlichen disseminierten Candidiose und Sepsis, die auch heute noch mit einer hohen Sterblichkeitsrate einhergehen.

Die Forschungsgruppe Mikrobielle Immunologie erforscht die Interaktionen zwischen Candida und dem Wirt um besser zu verstehen, welche Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wirt und Pilz zu pathophysiologischen Veränderungen führen und wie diese Veränderungen zur Entstehung schwerwiegender Erkrankungen beitragen. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns insbesondere auf folgende Aspekte:

  • Die Rolle der Pilz-Morphologie für die Pathogenese
  • Molekulare Mechanismen der Candida Sepsis
  • Gastrointestinale Kolonisierung und Translokation

Zur Untersuchung dieser Fragestellungen verwenden wir mikrobiologische, molekularbiologische und immunologische Methoden in Kombination mit verschiedenen Infektionsmodellen. Ziel ist es, dass unsere  Forschung zu einem besseren Verständnis der Prozesse während der Infektion beiträgt. Wir hoffen, dass sich daraus neue Ansätze zur Prävention und Behandlung schwerwiegender Candida-Infektionen entwickeln lassen.

Team

Ilse Denise Jacobsen
Leitung

Publikationen

Arastehfar A, Carvalho A, Houbraken J, Lombardi L, Garcia-Rubio R, Jenks JD, Rivero-Menendez O, Aljohani R, Jacobsen ID, Berman J, Osherov N, Hedayati MT, Ilkit M, Armstrong-James D, Gabaldón T, Meletiadis J, Kostrzewa M, Pan W, Lass-Flörl C, Perlin DS, Hoenigl M (2021) Aspergillus fumigatus and aspergillosis: From basics to clinics. Stud Mycol 100, 100115. (Review)
d'Enfert C, Kaune AK, Alaban LR, Chakraborty S, Cole N, Delavy M, Kosmala D, Marsaux B, Fróis-Martins R, Morelli M, Rosati D, Valentine M, Xie Z, Emritloll Y, Warn PA, Bequet F, Bougnoux ME, Bornes S, Gresnigt MS, Hube B, Jacobsen ID, Legrand M, Leibundgut-Landmann S, Manichanh C, Munro CA, Netea MG, Queiroz K, Roget K, Thomas V, Thoral C, Van den Abbeele P, Walker AW, Brown AJP (2021) The impact of the Fungus-Host-Microbiota interplay upon Candida albicans infections: current knowledge and new perspectives. FEMS Microbiol Rev 45(3), fuaa060. (Review)
Dunker C, Polke M, Schulze-Richter B, Schubert K, Rudolphi S, Gressler AE, Pawlik T, Prada Salcedo JP, Niemiec MJ, Slesiona-Künzel S, Swidergall M, Martin R, Dandekar T, Jacobsen ID (2021) Rapid proliferation due to better metabolic adaptation results in full virulence of a filament-deficient Candida albicans strain. Nat Commun 12(1), 3899.

Die Gruppe im Web