Infection Biology and Molecular Biotechnology

The Department of Molecular and Applied Microbiology (MAM) studies the infection biology of fungi, the ecological function of natural products and their importance for the structuring of microbiomes, and develops biotechnological solutions for the discovery/production of new drugs and therapies for infectious diseases. The department is divided into several research teams:

  • Pathobiology of Aspergillus fumigatus and novel strategies for the therapy of infections: Immune evasion and host-pathogen interaction as well as extracellular vesicles.
  • Functional microbiome research and natural products as a chemical language for microbial communication / Molecular biotechnology of natural products
  • Eukaryotic transcription factors
  • Pathogenicity and biodiversity of the Mucorales

Aspergillus fumigatus is the most medically important airborne human pathogenic fungus. It can cause allergic diseases as well as systemic, life-threatening infections. Because the diagnosis of invasive aspergillosis (IA) is very difficult and only a small number of effective antifungal therapeutics are available, the mortality of invasive aspergillosis is very high. The pathogenicity mechanisms of A. fumigatus are also poorly understood. Scientists of the MAM have discovered pathogenicity factors and are conducting research on the biology and virulence of A. fumigatus, as well as on immune and epithelial cells, to understand their response to and defence against infection. Additional studies now underway are increasingly focused on elucidating features of the lung microbiome that contribute to health and disease. Of particular interest are immune evasion strategies that allow the fungus to subvert the host response. To this end, MAM members use functional genomics methods on fungi, immune and epithelial cells, including knockout mouse models, as well as transcriptomics, proteomics, FACS analyses and innovative protein characterisation methods. The findings are applied to improve diagnosis and therapy.

Fungi produce a variety of natural products, e.g. antibiotics. In the field of natural products, the department focuses on the importance of these compounds for microbial communication and structuring of microbial consortia (microbiomes) as well as biotechnology and development of microbial active compounds/antibiotics. We have succeeded in discovering new principles of communication through natural products in the interaction between microorganisms, as well as identifying for the first time natural products that significantly determine this interaction.

Team

Axel A. Brakhage
Head
Olaf Kniemeyer
Deputy head of department

Contact

Please address general requests to mam.office@leibniz-hki.de.

News from the team

Currently there are no news items.

Publications

Brakhage AA, Zimmermann AK, Rivieccio F, Visser C, Blango MG (2021) Host-derived extracellular vesicles for antimicrobial defense. microLife 2, uqab003. (Review)
Brantl V, Boysen JM, Yap A, Golubtsov E, Ruf D, Heinekamp T, Straßburger M, Dichtl K, Haas H, Hillmann F, Wagener J (2021) Peroxiredoxin Asp f3 is essential for Aspergillus fumigatus to overcome iron limitation during infection. mBio 12(4), e0097621.
de Assis LJ, Silva L, Bayram Ö, Dowling P, Kniemeyer O, Krüger T, Brakhage AA, Chen Y, Dong L, Tan K, Wong KH, Ries L, Goldman G (2021) Carbon catabolite repression in filamentous fungi is regulated by phosphorylation of the transcription factor CreA. mBio 12(1), e03146-20.

Infektionsbiologie und molekulare Biotechnologie

Die Abteilung Molekulare und Angewandte Mikrobiologie (MAM) untersucht die Infektionsbiologie von Pilzen, die ökologische Funktion von Naturstoffen und Ihre Bedeutung für die Strukturierung von Mikrobiomen und entwickelt biotechnologische Lösungen für die Entdeckung/Produktion neuer Wirkstoffe und Therapien von Infektionskrankheiten. Die Abteilung ist in verschiedene Forschungsteams untergliedert:

  • Pathobiologie von Aspergillus fumigatus und neue Strategien zur Therapie von Infektionen:
    Immunevasion und Wirt-Pathogen Interaktion sowie extrazelluläre Vesikel
  • Funktionelle Mikrobiomforschung und Naturstoffe als chemische Sprache für mikrobielle Kommunikation / Molekulare Biotechnologie von Naturstoffen
  • Eukaryotische Transkriptionsfaktoren
  • Pathogenität und Biodiversität von Vertretern der Mucorales

Aspergillus fumigatus ist medizinisch gesehen der wichtigste, über die Luft übertragbare human-pathogene Pilz. Er kann sowohl allergische Erkrankungen als auch systemische, lebensbedrohliche Infektionen hervorrufen. Da die Diagnose invasiver Aspergillosen (IA) sehr schwierig ist und nur eine geringe Zahl antimykotisch wirksamer Therapeutika zur Verfügung stehen, ist die Sterblichkeit bei invasiven Aspergillosen sehr hoch. Auch sind die Pathogenitätsmechanismen von A. fumigatus bisher wenig verstanden. Wissenschaftler der MAM haben Pathogenitätsfaktoren entdeckt und forschen an der Biologie und Virulenz von A. fumigatus sowie an Immun- und Epithelzellen, um deren Antwort auf und Verteidigung gegen die Infektion verstehen zu lernen, zunehmend auch unter Berücksichtigung des Lungenmikrobioms. Besonders interessant sind Immunevasionsstrategien, die es dem Pilz erlauben, die Wirtsantwort zu unterlaufen. Dazu nutzen Mitarbeiter der MAM Methoden der funktionellen Genomforschung an Pilzen, Immun- und Epithelzellen einschließlich Knockout-Mausmodelle, sowie Transcriptomics, Proteomics, FACS-Analysen und innovative Proteincharaktersierungs-Methoden. Die Erkenntnisse finden für die Verbesserung von Diagnose und Therapie Anwendung.

Pilze produzieren eine Vielzahl an Naturstoffen, z. B. Antibiotika. Im Bereich Naturstoffe konzentriert sich die Abteilung auf deren Bedeutung für die mikrobielle Kommunikation und Strukturierung von mikrobiellen Konsortien (Mikrobiomen) sowie die Biotechnologie und Entwicklung mikrobieller Wirkstoffe/Antibiotika. Es ist uns dabei gelungen, neue Prinzipien der Kommunikation durch Naturstoffe bei der Interaktion zwischen Mikroorganismen zu entdecken, sowie erstmalig Naturstoffe zu identifizieren, die diese Interaktion wesentlich bestimmen.

Team

Axel A. Brakhage
Abteilungsleiter
Olaf Kniemeyer
Stellvertretender Abteilungsleiter

Kontakt

Allgemeine Anfragen richten Sie bitte an mam.office@leibniz-hki.de.

Publikationen

Brakhage AA, Zimmermann AK, Rivieccio F, Visser C, Blango MG (2021) Host-derived extracellular vesicles for antimicrobial defense. microLife 2, uqab003. (Review)
Brantl V, Boysen JM, Yap A, Golubtsov E, Ruf D, Heinekamp T, Straßburger M, Dichtl K, Haas H, Hillmann F, Wagener J (2021) Peroxiredoxin Asp f3 is essential for Aspergillus fumigatus to overcome iron limitation during infection. mBio 12(4), e0097621.
de Assis LJ, Silva L, Bayram Ö, Dowling P, Kniemeyer O, Krüger T, Brakhage AA, Chen Y, Dong L, Tan K, Wong KH, Ries L, Goldman G (2021) Carbon catabolite repression in filamentous fungi is regulated by phosphorylation of the transcription factor CreA. mBio 12(1), e03146-20.