Leibniz Drug of the Year 2017!

And the awardees are ...

... Dr Duncan Wilson (now Aberdeen Fungal Group, UK), Dr Selene Mogavero (HKI), Prof Thomas Gutsmann (Research Centre Borstel, Germany) and Prof Bernhard Hube (HKI)!

The committee has chosen these four scientists as members of the Leibniz association and honoured their discovery of the novel fungal cytolytic peptide toxin Candidalysin. The research results are published in a Nature paper last year:

Moyes DL*, Wilson D*, Richardson JP*, Mogavero S*, Tang SX, Wernecke J, Höfs S, Gratacap RL, Robbins J, Runglall M, Murciano C, Blagojevic M, Thavaraj S, Förster TM, Hebecker B, Kasper L, Vizcay G, Iancu SI, Kichik N, Häder A, Kurzai O, Luo T, Krüger T, Kniemeyer O, Cota E, Bader O, Wheeler RT, Gutsmann T, Hube B#, Naglik JR (2016) Candidalysin is a fungal peptide toxin critical for mucosal infection. Nature 532, 64-68.   (*shared first coauthor, #corresponding author, bold: HKI/FZB authors)

The prize will be handed over during the Leibniz Conference on Bioactive Compounds, which takes place at the Technical University Munich from April 10-11, 2017 in Freising, Germany.

For further information, please visit the HKI homepage.

Congratulations to all awardees!