Antibiotics affect balance of intestinal microbiome

Interplay between fungi and bacteria impaired

Cross-kingdom interactions among fungi and bacteria species (Seelbinder et al., Microbiome 2020)

Treatment with antibiotics has a lasting effect on the microbiome in the digestive system. While the bacterial flora is largely regenerated within 30 to 90 days after drug treatment, its interaction with resident fungi changes. In a combination of bioinformatic analyses and laboratory experiments, an international team of researchers has shown now that the peaceful coexistence of bacteria and fungi changes into a competitive situation when they are treated with antibiotics. This could subsequently favour fungal infections.

 

 

Involved Scientists at Leibniz-HKI

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gianni Panagiotou

Phone: +49 3641 532-1759 Email: gianni.panagiotou@leibniz-hki.de

Bastian Seelbinder

Phone: +49 3641 532-1360 Email: bastian.seelbinder@leibniz-hki.de

Dr. Jiarui Chen

Email: u3005393@connect.hku.hk

Dr. Sascha Brunke

Phone: +49 3641 532-1222 Email: sascha.brunke@leibniz-hki.de

Dr. Rakesh Santhanam

Phone: +49 3641 532-1309 Email: rakesh.santhanam@leibniz-hki.de

Daniel Loos

Phone: +49 3641 532-1426 Email: daniel.loos@leibniz-hki.de

Kang (Samuel) Kang

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hube

Phone: +49 3641 532-1401 Email: bernhard.hube@leibniz-hki.de

Go back