Scientific quality management

The Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology has the legal structure of a registered association that is based in Jena. The responsible federal ministry is the Federal Ministry for Education and Research. The responsible ministry of the Free State is the Thuringian Ministry of Economy, Science and Digital Society.

Scientific advisory board

The scientific advisory board advises the chairperson and the board of trustees with regard to scientific and organisational enquiries. They evaluate the results of scientific findings and provide recommendations for further development and profile establishment.

Prof. Dr. Philipp Beckhove Leibniz Institute for Immunotherapy, Regensburg
Prof. Elaine Bignell, PhD University of Exeter
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Braus Georg August University Göttingen
Prof. Dr. Christophe D’Enfert Institut Pasteur, Paris
Prof. Dr. Dagmar Fischer Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Dr. Edda Klipp Humboldt University Berlin
Prof. Dr. Robin May The University of Birmingham
Prof. Dr. Sarah O'Connor Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena
Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schaible Research Center Borstel Leibniz Lung Center
Dr. Franz von Nussbaum NUVISAN ICB GmbH, Berlin

Board of trustees

The board of trustees monitors the business management of the chairperson. They decide upon principles for the measurement of results regarding the scientific work of the Leibniz-HKI.

Dr. Bernd Ebersold Thuringian Ministry of Economy, Science and Digital Society, Erfurt (Head)
Heiner Will medac GmbH, Hamburg (Deputy head)
Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Boland Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology
Prof. Dr. Petra Dersch University of Münster
Dr. Joachim Klein Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Berlin
Dr. Thomas Maier Roche Diagnostics GmbH, Penzberg
Prof. Dr. Georg Pohnert Interim President of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena

General meeting

The general meeting manages the businesses of the association in mutual consent with the Board of Trustees and the Executive Board.

Carolin Greiner Mai Thuringian Ministry of Education, Science and Culture, Erfurt (Head)
Dr. Thoralf Held Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Prof. Dr. Albert Hinnen Honorary member
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Knorre Honorary member
Dr. Johann Komusiewicz Personal Member
Dr. Thomas Nitzsche Lord Mayor of Jena
Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Saluz Personal Member
Prof. Dr. Steffen Teichert Ernst Abbe University of Applied Sciences, Jena
Heiner Will medac GmbH, Hamburg

Institute's council

The institute's council consists of the members of the executive board, the heads of all units, the research coordinators and equal opportunities officers as well as the elected representatives of all employee groups listed below. In addition to current developments, organisational and technical issues, the Council also discusses the participation of the Leibniz-HKI in large scale research programmes. An additional topic are strategic actions resulting from a continous analysis of strengths and weaknesses which is carried out by the Scientific Advisory Board.